Lessons in grocery shopping

My mother found the cranberry-thing recipe. The actual name is frozen cranberry salad and it appears to be relatively easy to make.

I went grocery shopping on the 4th for the ingredients and learned a few things:

  • Cool Whip is kept in the freezer aisle. This small fact would have saved me time instead of frantically going back and forth down the milk section!
  • READ YOUR INGREDIENTS LIST CAREFULLY. There are several different types of sugar, cranberry sauce and pineapples. There is a difference between coarse and granulated, whole and sauced, crushed and chunks. I could have saved myself two (yes, two) extra trips back to the store had I paid attention.
  • When all else fails, try Google. I had no idea what “fold in topping” meant, but the Interwebs has DOZENS of step-by-step videos and articles on it!

I also learned that the grocery store does not have a wide variety of cooking pans, so my actual baking is on hold until I can get over to Target this weekend…

Speaking of Cool Whip…

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment